Monday, June 14, 2010

Nick Hornby, Ben Folds collaboration to be released by Nonesuch

The long awaited collaboration between acclaimed writer Nick Horby and piano-pop geek Ben Folds finally has a release date. We first brought you info about the collaboration almost two years ago, and now the album album will be released via Nonesuch Records on September 28.

The album is titled Lonely Avenue and that is the album art to the right there. The lyrics are by Nick Hornby, the music is by Ben Folds and the songs feature string arrangements by acclaimed pop composer Paul Buckmaster.

Folds specifically made the album to be listened to on vinyl and will be available as an "audiophile-grade vinyl, cut with the Direct Metal Master process at Abbey Road Studios and pressed at Pallas Manufacturing in Diepholz, Germany." That's some serious shit.

The album will also be available on CD and as a digital download. There will also be a deluxe package form that will include four short stories by Nick Hornby.

Folds has performed a few of the songs live in the last year or so. Check out a performance of "Picture Window" below the track list.

Lonely Avenue track list
1. Working Day
2. Picture Window
3. Levi Johnston's Blues
4. Doc Pomus
5. Your Dogs
6. Practical Amanda
7. Claire's Ninth
8. Password
9. From Above
10. Saskia Hamilton
11. Belinda

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Ben played a couple of tracks from this at the Raleigh show. "Levi Johnston's Blues" was an absolute hit with the crowd, and definitely got me very pumped about the album!