Monday, July 09, 2012

The Mountain Goats releasing 'Transcendental Youth' in October

Prolific singer-songwriter John Darnielle and his band The Mountain Goats are back with a new album titled Transcendental Youth, out on October 2 via Merge Records.

The album features twelve new songs recorded at Overdub Lane in Chapel Hill and will feature horn arrangements by Matthew E. White, leader of the Virginia band Fight the Big Bull. For a detailed account of how the album came to be, check out Darnielle's post about in on the Mountain Goats' website.

The first pre-orders of the album will include a special 7" vinyl of two non-album tracks recorded by Darnielle alone straight to 1/2-inch tape. The songs will be transferred directly to vinyl, thus never being in digital form though he notes that the songs will likely be available digitally at some point. It's unclear right now limited the vinyl pressing will be but Merge says that pre-orders will be available starting on July 23.

Comedian John Hodgman also wrote a biography/one-sheet about the new album which you can check out on Merge's site.

As we wrote about a few weeks ago, the Mountain Goats will perform Transcendental Youth with the acapella group Anonymous as part of Duke Gardens upcoming season. They will play Reynolds Theater on Saturday, October 6, a few days after the album is released. Tickets will be available HERE or at the Duke box office in the Bryan Center on July 17 for $32 or 38.

Transcendental Youth track list
1. Amy aka Spent Gladiator 1
2. Lakeside View Apartments Suite
3. Cry for Judas
4. Harlem Roulette
5. White Cedar
6. Until I Am Whole
7. Night Light
8. The Diaz Brothers
9. Counterfeit Florida Plates
10. In Memory of Satan
11. Spent Gladiator 2
12. Transcendental Youth 

No comments: