Tuesday, December 14, 2010

New music from The Mountain Goats - "Tyler Lambert's Grave"

Photo by Steven Dewall
Songwriter John Darnielle just released a new album with his duo The Extra Lens in October, but is also prepping his first Merge Records release with The Mountain Goats in early 2011. The album titled All Eternals Deck will be released on March 29.

The album was recoded all over the place including four songs with John Congleton in North Carolina, one with Brandon Eggleston in Boston, four with Scott Solter in Brooklyn and four with Erik Rutan (former Morbid Angel guitarist and Hate Eternal frontman) in Florida.

Darnielle posted a download of an outtake from the album via Twitter on December 13 titled "Tyler Lambert's Grave." The song is a fantastic somber piano tune accompanied by a cello. Download the song below where you'll also find the full All Eternals Deck track list.

John Darnielle will be playing a solo Mountain Goats set at the Brome For the Holidays show at Kings in Raleigh on Friday, December 17. Phil Cook and His Feat and Veelee, as well as some special guests, are also on the bill. Tickets are $10 in advance via etix and proceeds will benefit the Autism Society of North Carolina.

The Mountain Goats - "Tyler Lambert's Grave" (mp3)

All Eternals Deck tracklist
1. Damn These Vampires
2. Birth of Serpents
3. Estate Sale Sign
4. Age of Kings
5. The Autopsy Garland
6. Beautiful Gas Mask
7. High Hawk Season
8. Prowl Great Cain
9. Sourdoire Valley Song
10. Outer Scorpion Squadron
11. For Charles Bronson
12. Never Quite Free
13. Liza Forever Minnelli

No comments: