Wednesday, August 08, 2012

Tracey Thorn to release holiday album in October

Singer-songwriter Tracey Thorn, formerly of the band Everything but the Girl, will release a new holiday album this fall. It's titled Tinsel and Lights and will be released by Merge Records the day before Halloween, October 30.

Instead of taking on holiday standards, she's releasing and album of more contemporary songwriters including Jack White, Randy Newman, Joni Mitchell, Ron Sexsmith and other. The album also includes two original songs written by Thorn.

The vinyl release will include the bonus track, "25th December," written and originally sung by Ben Watt of Everything but the Girl. Check out the full track list with original performers and/or songwriters below.

Tinsel and Lights track list
1. Joy (written by Tracey Thorn)
2. Hard Candy Christmas (originally performed by Dolly Parton)
3. Like a Snowman (written by Stephin Merritt)
4. Maybe This Christmas (written by Ron Sexsmith)
5. In the Cold, Cold Night (written by Jack White)
6. Snow (written by Randy Newman)
7. Snow in Sun (written by Green Gartside of Scritti Politti)
8. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (holiday classic)
9. Tinsel and Lights (written by Tracey Thorn)
10. River (written by Joni Mitchell)
11. Taking Down the Tree (feat. Green Gartside) (written by Low)
12. Sister Winter (written by Sufjan Stevens)
Bonus LP track: 25th December (written and originally sung by Ben Watt)

No comments: